Uncategorized

O Come All Ye Faithful

1-95c4aedf47

One of  the Christmas mornings I will always remember, from my childhood, was the year that Dad and Mom bought us a big stereo system with a cd player. We were all waiting behind the French doors by the advent candle wreath. Then we heard blasting Christmas music coming from the family room.  We knew the gift, but thinking back, the gift giver’s excitement was almost better than the gift.  Yes, some of us were getting older and dad cranking up music and singing loudly was probably a little embarrassed at the time. But that was dad. He loved music and singing and he liked doing them all loudly.

A few years ago I got this Christmas CD and my favorite song on it by far is O Come All Ye Faithful sung by David Osmond.  It forever makes me think of dad at Christmas time.  It’s a powerfully sung version of this familiar Christmas Carol. I love playing it in the car and turning up really loud, I’m pretty sure that dad would have done the same.  But it is the lyrics by far that make me think of Dad.

Sing, choirs of angels,
Sing in exultation;
Sing, all ye citizens of heav’n above!
Glory to God,
Glory in the highest;
Oh, come, let us adore him;
Oh, come, let us adore him;
Oh, come, let us adore him,
Christ, the Lord.

I love that line about the citizens of heaven singing Glory to God in the highest.  Dad and I may not be able to do anything together anymore here on this earth, however, I know that for certain that we are both praising God and adoring Christ, the Lord.  And knowing that we still can do that together makes me cry, smile and full of joy.

 

1 thought on “O Come All Ye Faithful”

Leave a Reply

