Uncategorized

THIRTY-FOUR

WP_20150928_001

Today I turn Thirty-Four. I’m almost positive that is how old I am. I did the math and checked with my husband and we are pretty sure that is the number.  I woke up thinking and feeling blessed. I thought back to all those birthday parties at the farm. Where mom would make an enormous angle food cake and meal for me on the 28th and then invite the whole family back the next day to celebrate my sister Laura’s birthday.(Serious Mom … how did you do that??) But she did it because she wanted each of us to have that special day… to be celebrated… to feel loved.  There was always a family party with crispy baked chicken, potatoes, mom’s special cinnamon pickles and all the family.  I remember a few friend birthday parties throughout the year but mostly it was celebration with family!  A few years we celebrated birthday’s in Decora, IA so we could celebrate with Laura at college.

I remember that Mom and Dad would call me at college early in the morning and talk about the day I was born.  This was the days that they would both jump on the land line and talk to me at the same time (Mom in the kitchen and dad downstairs).  Even when I was away they made it appoint to call or come over and always send a card.

Last night I recounted to Lillian the year she was born I celebrated my Golden birthday. I explained what a Golden birthday was and when she would have hers. I told her that we celebrated at Aunt Laura’s house and Aunt Heidi decorated with Gold paper cups and decorations. I remember the feeling of celebrating that birthday but stepping into this new Mommy tradition in my family.

Now of days, my kiddos get super excited to for my birthday and Chris’ birthday. They already have that attitude of wanting to make that day special for that person.

Earlier this year my sister Laura found another interesting thing in dad’s office while they were cleaning it out.  They found a letter typed to Fairmont Obstetrics Floor on October 5th ,1981. One week after I was born my mom and dad typed a letter to the Staff thanking them for the special birth experiences with Marisa Joy on September 28th.  Long before it was “cool” to write out your birth story and post it on the internet. Dad and Mom brought out his typewriter and wrote mine out.

Mine was the first birth that they were allowed to have “very little interference.” Dad got to “weigh Marisa and measure her and I liked knowing she was in sight.”  Mom remember, ” my other babies being taken away from me shortly after birth.  I remember many anxious moments I had wondering about my babies as they were separated from me.  That’s probably why I think about Marisa’s birth with complete Joy!” 

Then my parents pack up and went home, “only four hours after delivery.” This is why they said the did this, ” We chose to have an early discharge from the hospital…Probably the biggest reason we wanted to get home was our other children ages ten, nine, and four.  We really felt they needed to be apart of this unique experience in some way- after all they lived through nine months of my pregnancy also.  Our children were happily surprised to greet their new sister when they awoke in the morning and enjoyed going up to my bed to see me and Marisa at any time.’ Perhaps our four year old benefited the most by having me there to assure her I still loved her and helping her adjust to being a big sister.  She is extremely tender and gentle with Marisa so far.  The older two also have gotten very attached to her and race to where ever she is after school to hold, kiss and love their little sister.”  

Yep, folks I was born at 2 in the morning and mom and dad were home before 7.   The were confident in their care but wanted to get home so that they could start being a family of six.  At the end of the letter they put a p.s. written by me, ” To the nurses and Dr, Thank you for making my birth so gentle. I hope more babies can have a birth like mine. It’s an interesting letter to write to your hospital and probably an even more letter to keep as a keepsake.  But I treasure the care and thought that my parents helped to bring me into this world with

Today I will teach school and hang out with the kids, go out to eat and then go swimming.  Sounds like a great birthday to celebrate 34 years of life.

1 thought on “THIRTY-FOUR”

  1. Great birthday memories and reflections! I realize too that we are the same numbers this year, just turned around… ! That is fun!

Leave a Reply

