Uncategorized

The Next to me Place… of Family

The days and weeks after my dad died. My whole family was together. Between vacation and planning the funeral we were with each other for almost 2 weeks. There was no fighting or arguing.   We operated as one, when one got tired, someone else came alongside. We ate together, prayed together, cried together, and worked together to coordinate a Memorial service that would honor dad and his Loving legacy of Faith and Family.

It was during that week that we all just wanted to be close.  We wanted to be right next to each other.  Since my brother also lived in Fairmont he would sleep at home but we would all look and wait for him to come and have breakfast and regroup. We just wanted to be together.  It was then that I started seeing a supernatural knitting together of my family.  I saw it when my nephew Ross took Lillian to the library to pick out videos.  I saw it when my girls started to bond with their uncle Bryan and Aunt Becky on a whole new level.  I saw it with hugs between siblings and working along side family to sort through boxes of memorabilia and photos.

I am afraid that this type of “knitting” usually only happens through trials and trauma and grief and leaning on God – allowing the Holy Spirit to work in all of us.  One of the scriptures that I thought of almost immediately was Isaiah 45:2 & 3 “I will go before you and make the rough places smooth; I will shatter the doors of bronze and cut through their iron bars. “I will give you the treasures of darkness And hidden wealth of secret places, So that you may know that it is I, The LORD, the God of Israel, who calls you by your name. I think that the knitting together was one of those treasures of Darkness. One of the hidden blessings that the Lord poured out.

As humans we don’t want hard, grief, struggle- we want and think we deserve to be happy, joyous and peaceful.  I have learned that no family is immune or spared from death and heartache in this fallen world. However, we have a heavenly hope and know that this is not the end.  My girls have constantly reminded me this year that we will get to see Grandpa again in Heaven. Lillian’s prayer on the 24th was that we would all grow older and that we would get to see Grandpa again and jump for Joy when we do!

1 thought on “The Next to me Place… of Family”

Leave a Reply

