Uncategorized

July 24th-, 2013 “The Bike Ride”

grandpa biking

1 year ago today my dad took Lillian and Norah on a bike ride the morning of his last here on Earth. Chris and I were getting ready to go on a date with Lillian and we were getting ready.  The girls were a little crabby and dad wanted to take them for a little ride to pass the time.  They traveled the country roads while dad was singing.    I regretted not taking a picture of my dad with the girls that morning.  However, months later my brother-in-law found a short video that my niece took of Dad coming back from the bike ride.  Dad is singing, “We are climbing Jacob’s Ladder.”  The last verse he sings as he pulls up to the house is … “If you love him, why not serve him? Children of the cross.” I could think of a better song to dad to sing and my girls to learn. This is just one of the little Dad moments that I am thankful for. L  I’m thankful that he would always take the time to play with my girls, take them on rides and ask them how they were doing. Here are the rest of the lyrics of the song!

We are climbing Jacob’s ladder
We are climbing Jacob’s ladder
We are climbing Jacob’s ladder
Children of the Cross

Every rung goes higher, higher
Every rung goes higher, higher
Every rung goes higher, higher
Children of the Cross

Sinner, do you love my Jesus?
Sinner, do you love my Jesus?
Sinner, do you love my Jesus?
Children of the Cross

If you love Him, why not serve Him?
If you love Him, why not serve Him?
If you love Him, why not serve Him?
Children of the Cross

grandpa biking 2

3 thoughts on “July 24th-, 2013 “The Bike Ride””

Leave a Reply

