Uncategorized

Here Chickadee

chicks

I was going to post about our new addition to the homestead, 12 egg laying chicks, but then we lost power.    Chicks have been on the list for us for a while and when we started reading about the process and how long it will take for them to grow and produce eggs (24 weeks) we thought be better get started.  We headed to The Tractor Supply Store and got our little guys.  The girls were so so excited.  Lillian is like a natural mother hen to her chicks- including rocking them in her hands, singing to them, reading books and checking on them.  Norah just screams and just gets so happy when she sees them.  This whole process has given me flashbacks to my turkey raising days, the good and the bad. I think the chicks are a pretty resilient after the 4 days in front of the fireplace. They are happy now to be back in their happy brooder box in the basement! Names so far are Chickadee (which Lillian calls all of them), peep, and Gerdie!

Flashback to my mom and me looking at the new batch of Turkeys
Flashback to my mom and me looking at the new batch of Turkeys
Carrie and me holding chicks (i'm guessing I'm about Lil's age)
Carrie and me holding chicks (i’m guessing I’m about Lil’s age)
t2
Can we say little Norah?

 

1 thought on “Here Chickadee”

Leave a Reply

